Oklahoma Flood

13 Apr

stormafter a line by Joy Harjo

It was beginning to rain in Oklahoma, the rain that would flood the world. I tried to tell myself that it was only minor, but when I heard the birds fleeing from the sycamore trees like pieces of a heart, I panicked, running from the flood, hoping it wouldn’t catch up. I was dry as the grass in summer but I didn’t need to get wet so I ran on top of the cars knowing they would only hold me for so long—

Tiffany, ninth grade, Del Valle Opportunity Center

5 Responses to “Oklahoma Flood”

  1. Kristina April 14, 2009 at 9:10 am #

    Oh I love this! The picture choice was quite excellent as well.

  2. John Day April 16, 2009 at 8:25 am #

    Good job Tiffany, I did not know you had it in you to do this exceptional work. Now you have a place in the sun, expand it to your benefit.

    John Day
    Assistant Principal
    Opportunity Center

  3. Miss Wendi Sisneros April 16, 2009 at 11:31 am #

    Tiffany, I am so proud of the work you have done. This is a wonderful poem. You have proven that you have a voice worth hearing and there is the promise of more to come. Terrific job!!!

    Miss Wendi
    Del Valle Opportunity Center

  4. Ms. Shepherd April 16, 2009 at 11:33 am #

    Very nice! Good word choices & similies! Keep on writing, girl!

  5. Kristi Horton April 16, 2009 at 12:28 pm #

    Nice job on writing about the panic that a flood, any sort of flood, both real and symbolic, can cause.

Leave a Reply

