Winter

8 Nov

It’s that special time in Texas, one of those brief cool spells that pop up between our singular season—summer. In keeping with this welcome transition from hot to not-so-hot, our featured Badgerdog writer extols the virtues of the cooler weather and the season known in other parts of the world as winter. Please enjoy Montanique’s gorgeous poem—it sings with images that capture the cold, just as it beautifully warms our hearts.

Winter I love
Dead trees
Turn green in the spring
Snow drops on the palm
Of my hand
Christmas lights switch colors
Back and forth hanging from the cold roof
Mittens keep me warm outside
When I am about to throw a snowball
Marshmallows and hot chocolate
Make me happy inside my stomach

Montanique, fourth grade, Hornsby-Dunlap Elementary School

4 Responses to “Winter”

  1. Jena Gessaman November 9, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    Monti, I am so very proud of you and your writing. This is the second semester I have had the honor of instructing you in our Badgerdog class and your efforts are commendable. My favorite line in your poem is, “snow drops on the palm of my hand.” I have a clear visual in my mind’s eye when I read it. Beautiful poem in honor of winter.
    Let it snow! Ms. Jena

    • Montanique November 11, 2010 at 10:12 pm #

      Ms.Jena,

      Thank you for your beautiful comments. I couldn’t have done it without you. I am so glad I get to be retaught by you. I can’t imagine what exciting things we will do this semester. I am really looking forward to it.

      Write you always,
      Montanique : )

  2. Montanique November 11, 2010 at 9:44 pm #

    Montanique I love your poem it sings with joy and makes me feel the actual winter breeze. Keep up the sensational writing!
    Beautiful always,
    Montanique Deshay : )

  3. Angela November 11, 2010 at 9:55 pm #

    Montanique,
    I love reading your writing and I completely agree with the comment you left. 😉 I look forward to reading more of your outstanding poems. Love always!
    Your mother,
    Angela Arroyo

Leave a Reply

