My Shoe

3 Jan

One of the many powers inherent in the writer is the ability to transform ordinary objects into vessels full of wonder, to take what we know and turn and tilt it so we begin to see the world through new lenses. This week’s Unbound selection, inspired by Kit Wright’s poem “The Magic Box,” does just that, taking an everyday shoe but remaking it into a treasure trunk full of strange cargo. Congratulations to Amaria at Decker Elementary!

I will put in my shoe

A jug of juice from a store that smells like bugs from the middle of Pluto,
A blue horse from a barn at the end of the earth.
An Atlantic ship from the 1950s. It was nicer back then.
Now it’s musty, dirty, dusty, brown, and crusty like my old mustard.

I will put in my shoe

A big person the size of Jupiter who looks like sea-green flowers.
A load of blond hair the size of a whole teacher.

My shoe is black like lead with diamonds that sparkle in the sun.
The inside is purple and soft, like my pillows and sheets.

Amaria, fourth grade, Decker Elementary School

4 Responses to “My Shoe”

  1. Mr. A. January 3, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

    I have a greater respect for shoes! Thanks for all of the imagery. Great Work. Mr. A.

  2. Ms. Washington January 3, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

    Congratulations!!! I am so proud of you sweetie. My heart melts like butter in between a homestyle, buttermilk biscuit on a Sunday morning. I love to see my students succeed. Your imagery and choice of adjectives were great. Keep up the excellent work! 🙂

  3. Carmen Radley January 4, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    Great job, Amaria! Your poem is so vivid and full of unexpected twists! Hope you’re still writing 🙂

    Ms. Carmen

  4. Ms. Hawkins January 12, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

    Amaria,
    The way you write from your heart is incredible. I am so thankful that I have a student with such work ethic and creativity in my class. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

