School

10 Jan

Ah, middle school—one of the most complex ecosystems on the planet. It seems an impossible task to explain the joy, the angst, the possibility of it all. Luckily, we don’t have to. In this week’s Unbound selection, eighth-grader Morgan articulates the middle school landscape with honesty and exactitude. Congratulations to Morgan on this accomplished piece.

No matter what, I bet you remember your first day of middle school. You’re labeled the second you walk in that door—jock, nerd, goth, outsider, popular, clean freak, or just plain freak. One day we will all be gone. It will take you a while to remember all the classes you had with your best friends. It will take some time to remember all the extracurricular activities you were in and who was involved. You’ll think of all the fights, make-ups, heartbreaks. You’ll think of all the friends you’ve gained and lost. You’ll cry over it and then cry from laughing, thinking of all the fun you had. Then you’ll think of guys—both good and bad. The guys who were your best friends, the guys you had crushes on, the guys you never got, the guys who slipped away. School is one of the best times of your life. Sometimes you think the world’s coming to an end, but it’s not. It’s only the beginning.

Morgan, eighth grade, Ojeda Middle School

13 Responses to “School”

  1. Mark Estrada January 11, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

    Great job Morgan! We are very proud of you!

  2. Mr. Wiersema January 11, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    Great job Morgan. So proud of you! Keep up the great work.

  3. Mr. Dennis January 11, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    What a great piece of writing, Morgan. Well done! And well said!

  4. Leah Mercer January 11, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    Congratulations on this huge accomplishment! Keep up your writing talent because you will go far! Reach for the stars!-Ojeda Dance Teacher, Ms. Mercer

  5. Ms. Iverson January 11, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

    Way to go, Morgan! This straight forward and honest piece is very insightful and hits home with me. I remember my first day of middle school, too and I agree with you. It is strange, but wonderful to have a sense of where you are in your life and even better, being able to appreciate it. Keep reading, writing, and acting- you seem to have a natural understanding of what it is to be human and when you put it into words or act it onstage, it is wonderful to watch because it is honest. Oh- and keep reading books and talking with me about them! Great job, Morgan! I am so proud of you!

  6. Ms. Neena January 11, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    Yeah, Morgan! I love reading your work and seeing your name in print. Have a great semester. I’m thinking of you. Ms. N

  7. Ms. Wesley January 11, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    Great job Morgan! I am proud of you. You explained middle school perfectly.

  8. Ms. Steege January 11, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

    Morgan–
    I am so proud of you! I love this piece. Even as an adult, I read it and remember my first day so well. It’s a terrifying, yet exciting time. I love the line, “it’s only the beginning.” I know more now than ever that that is so true. Keep up the good work. I’ve always loved your writing and I can’t wait to read more of it. Never lose that passion!

  9. alex and sean January 11, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    your funna!

  10. Anna Hilt January 11, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    Morgan:

    I really enjoyed reading this piece. You are an amazing writer. I’m really proud of you. Ms. Hilt

  11. Ms. Funderfutch January 11, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    MORGAN! You rock! Congratulations on being published. Such a wonderful accomplishment for such a talented writer.

  12. Mrs. Mary Alice Castillo January 13, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

    Great Job Morgan. Thanks for reminding me what middle school feels like. I have a 5th grader who will read your story and hopefully will give him the courage to write his own story.

  13. Nicholas Rodriquez January 23, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    Great job, best friend! You are such a FANTASTIC writer! It’s about time I found this website. I feel so late…

Leave a Reply

