To Be a Tree

24 Jan

The beauty of the imagination is its ability to transform. For, when we imagine, we are able to escape, to rebuild, to know the world another way. This week, two young writers from Allan Elementary delight us with their imaginations. Because of their wonderful way with words we are able to know, for a moment, what it’s like to live life as a tree—to tower over the world, to be charmed by the humans beneath us , to be humbled by the mountains that make us feel small. Congratulations to Crystal and Benjamin for these beautiful poems!

Whooshing Like Whales

If I were a tree,
I would be a pine cone tree
On the side of Lake Austin.
I would see people taking boat rides,
Bicycle rides,
Children playing in the water,
Or people taking hikes.

Mother Earth would reach into the lake
To give me some water.
I would hear cars on the bridge
Whooshing like whales
On the beach, swimming.

In the night the people would
Build campfires,
Sing campfire songs,
Tell scary stories.

Crystal, fourth grade, Allan Elementary School


Pine Tree

I am a pine tree.
I live at the bottom of Mt. Everest.
When snow falls,
I feel fresh.
When squirrels jump on me,
I feel ticklish.

Benjamin, fourth grade, Allan Elementary School

3 Responses to “To Be a Tree”

  1. Amber January 24, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

    Crystal, I love your simile:

    “I would hear cars on the bridge
    Whooshing like whales
    On the beach, swimming.”

    That’s so creative and unusual, but it really conjures up the right sound.

    And Benjamin, I love how your poem is both beautiful (the feeling of snow) and playful (the feeling of the squirrel).

  2. Ms. Arellano January 25, 2011 at 4:05 pm #

    Crystal,

    I love that you included Mother Earth in your poem and how motherly it is of her to give you a drink of water from Lake Austin.

    Benajmin,

    I really like that your Pine Tree “feels” what is going on: the freshness of the snow and the tickling sensation of the squirrels.

    Both of You;

    KEEP ON WRITING!

    Ms. Arellano

  3. Jena Gessaman February 11, 2011 at 9:16 am #

    I remember when Crystal read her poem in class and I was in awe over the line about Mother Earth reaching into the lake, as if she had real arms, to give the thirsty tree a drink. Benjamin’s poem is what all poets strive for: to be succinct. I love the gentle rhyme of Mt. Everest and ticklish. I am so proud of both of my poets! Write On! Ms. Jena

Leave a Reply

