I Know This Much Is True

4 Apr

In a world of a million unknowns and uncertainties, even the smallest, simplest affirmation can bring tremendous satisfaction. In this week’s gorgeous piece by Lucas from Dailey Middle School, we’re treated to a series of straightforward (yet luminous) declarations that exclaim, “This is what I know, and this is how I know it!” The calm authority of the speaker in this poem (a flower) is both comforting and inspiring. Thanks, Lucas, for this refreshing expression of being and knowing. You make it look so effortless.

How I Know I Am an African Flower

—inspired by Duke Ellington’s “Fleurette Africaine”

I stay stiff. The wind moves me. My petals blow away. Bees collect my pollen. I wilt in the winter. I get stepped on, but I rise back up. I grow to become stronger. I tell my seedlings to grow big and strong. I say thanks when I get water. My seedlings just laugh because they are playing in it. I know I’m an African flower.

Lucas, sixth grade, Dailey Middle School

2 Responses to “I Know This Much Is True”

  1. Brian Nicolet April 4, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

    The sustained metaphor here is really quite stunning. There is sadness and strength, defeat and the overcoming of defeat. That’s a lot to achieve in so few lines. A beautiful piece to accompany a beautiful song. Fine work, Lucas.

    Mr. Brian

  2. kelty April 7, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    I am inspired by the resilience of this African Flower!

Leave a Reply

