A Season Since…

7 Sep

Time flies when we’re having fun, but it does the same when we simply continue on. What produces this illusion of speed? What makes us think time ought to march by more slowly? A season is only a season, but that can be quite a lot. Take Ms. McGee’s class at Barrington Elementary School–just a few months ago, they were poised at the edge of second grade, ready to leap into something new and fresh. Now, they are nearly seasoned third-graders! So much can change in a summer! So much can happen! Ms. McGee’s second-grade class ended their year with a three-week Badgerdog mini-workshop, and this week we publish the pieces they wrote back then. What will they see with their new third-grade eyes? Will they recall a time in May when they collected bits of their lives in notebooks now slightly aged? Whatever the answer, these writers composed wonderful poetry and prose, and their work is both careful and considerate. The following pieces look beyond everyday life—they stare! Something new and wonderful is discovered in such close focus.

Things in My Heart

Book
Kitty
Cool math games
My family
Mom

Abel 

Things in My Heart

Cake
Ms. G
Oreos
My fish and books
Barrington and math
Pink
 
Alexis

Things I Like

I like to water my mom’s grass.
Watering the grass is fun for me.
I like writing my letters in A-B-C order.
I like telling my sister funny jokes.
I like playing with my next-door neighbor.
I like drawing pictures.

Larissa

I Want an XBox

I want an XBox in my room because I don’t have one to play with. I could play with my XBox when it’s school time. I could sneak and, when my mom comes home, I could fake that I am asleep. Then, when she goes to bed, I could turn on the TV and play with my XBox.

Rene

Things in My Heart

Mom
Cool Math
Computer
My family
Earrings and bracelets
Dad

Sarai

Inside My Fictional Room

Inside of my room I have my plasma TV. I have a lot of toys. I have my DSi, my DS, toy cars, an XBox, and a Wii. I can always hear my cat meowing. It sounds lonely and makes me open the door to let it in. Inside my room it smells like rotten eggs and rotten potatoes.

Martin

My Hands

My hands can write. They can wave goodbye, finger wave, hold things, touch stuff, and they can even make fake glasses. They can do magic, make stuff, move stuff, tear stuff, even open stuff. They can make guns and signs. My hands are cool.

Matthew

Things in My Heart

Mom
Pizza
Badgerdog
Blueberries
Tacos and summer
Dad
 
Olivia

Things in My Heart

Dad
Sister
Beverly
My dog Honey
Grandma and Grandpa
Mom

Thalia 

Leave a Reply

