A Certain Kind of Sustenance

10 Oct

You are what you eat. Everyone know this healthy living maxim, especially in our current times, so defined by diet crazes and increasing, organic-fueled awareness. However, another, similar mantra exists, one that has been left by the side of the road, forgotten by its bigger, hungrier brother. You are what you love. Is this not a superior turn of phrase? Healthy living is one part body, a million times love! During a three-week mini creative writing workshop at Barrington Elementary, Mr. Olivas’ second grade class got to work: they went to PE class, they practiced their arithmetic, but they also exercised their hearts! This is the resulting concoction: a series of poems that examine the caring relationships (with people, animals, and even objects!) that make us who we are. Loving life tastes pretty good, even better than organic peanut butter!

Things in My Heart

Dog
Drawing
Flautas, shoes
Sometimes school, milk
Nature, Mexico
My family

Nalley

Things in My Heart

Dog
Cat
Ice cream
Friendship
Family
Swimming pool
Video games
Watermelon
Butterflies flying
My favorite animal is the dog

Evelyn

Things in My Heart

Dog
Blue, toys
Poom, Poom, Poom
Uncle, honey
Swimming at the pool
Dad

Kimberly

My Hand Is Good

My hand smells good like apples.
My hand has a little bump.
My hand has some ones.
My hand is big.

Sheila

Things in My Heart

Cat
Ice cream
Butterfly
Video game
Berries are delicious
Family

Astrid

Things in My Heart

Dog
Tacos
Pokémon
Video games
Transformers
Six Flags and pizza
Family

Josue

Things in My Heart

Dog
Be
Job
Best
Grade
Red

Cristian

Bicycle

Wow! Wow! Let me ride on that big white bike with two big comfortable pedals with trick sticks! Wow! Fun! Funn! Fuuunnnnn! Better than a roller coaster! Wee! Wee! Weeeeee!

Hernan

Things in My Heart

Red
Rabbits
Butterfly
Watermelon
Adventures and fun
Family

Maritza

Things in My Heart

Dog
Tacos
Pokémon cards
Rabbits, swimming
Soccer, games, my cat
Family

Kevin

Things in My Heart

Stars
Smoothies
Lemonade
Watermelon
Baby birds, stuffed animals
Family

Jessica

Leave a Reply

