Ms. Lopez’s Badgerdog Writers at Brown Elementary

4 Apr

What an energetic and creative group of young writers! Every session, Ms. Lopez’s students were eager to play with words, find inspiration in family and friends, and read their pieces out loud. They enjoyed taking creative risks and listening to each other’s pieces. We kicked off the workshop by penning a poem called ‘Yo Soy (I Am),’ in which they introduced themselves with impressive and touching results. Then we drew inspiration from Pablo Neruda’s ‘Ode to French Fries’ and wrote mind-bending odes to common things, such as chocolate, tigers, or Wal-Mart. Next we ventured out to create a new superhero out of T.A. Brown Elementary’s mascot, the Bobcat, and the kids wrote fantastic stories about him. They also worked on finding stories hidden in the names of people we love the most and challenged themselves in revision. I was really impressed by the creativity, hard work and enthusiasm of these budding writers. And after you read their pieces, I’m sure you will too.

– Antonio Ruiz-Camacho
Badgerdog Teaching Artist

brown moon ms lopez

Yo Soy

Soy una dona de chocolate sabrosa
Soy un libro de Batman súper emocionante
Soy fútbol y basquetbol divertido
Soy un ave feliz y libre
Yo soy los tacos de mi abuela
Grandes, con chile y carne
Soy azul emocionante
Yo soy Navidad bonita, blanca
Soy septiembre frío
Yo soy las cosas ricas que me como
Como pizza y hamburguesas
Soy la luna de chocolate derritiéndose
Soy el chocolate más derretido
Y más café y sabroso

I Am

I am a tasty chocolate donut
I am a super exciting Batman book
I am soccer and basketball, I am fun
I am a bird, happy and free
I am my grandmother’s tacos
Large, filled with chile and meat
I am an exciting blue
I am Christmas, white, beautiful
I am cold September
I am the tasty meals that I enjoy
Like pizza and burgers
I am the chocolate moon, melting away
I am the utmost melted chocolate
The tastiest, the brownest

Jonathan

La piñata

A mí me gusta hacer piñata
Para que la rompan
La piñata puede ser como uno quiera
Grande, mediana o chiquita
Puede ser lo que pidan
Van a ser las mejores
Y hay de muchas maneras
Hay de estrella y de capitán calzoncillos
Y de muchas más
Van a ser las mejores del mundo
Y van a valer dos dólares
Son de newspaper y de papel
Y son para niños y para padres y madres
Las piñatas
Son grandes

Piñatas

I like making piñatas
For everybody to hack at them
Piñatas can take any shape you want
They can be big, medium, or tiny
They can be as you wish
Mine are going to be the best piñatas ever
With countless forms
Some piñatas look like stars, others like Captain Underpants
Their shapes are many
They will be the world’s best
And they will cost two dollars
They are made of newspaper and regular paper
They are for kids and for fathers and for mothers
Piñatas
Are big

Bryan

Súper Bobcat

Yo tengo un Súper Bobcat que tiene color café y negro. Tiene poderes como correr rápido y nadie lo puede ver, es pequeño y puede volar y puede brincar tan alto y como puede volar, espera un minuto.

Él tiene poderes para brincar y poderes para volar que importan, porque cuando alguien está en el techo no brinca tan alto y cuando él vuela, vuela tan alto.

Y cuando una casa se quemó, él rescató al señor al volar y fue feliz para siempre.

Super Bobcat

I have a Super Bobcat, he’s brown and black. Among his super powers are: running really fast and being invisible. He’s small and he can fly and jump really high in the air.

He can jump and he can fly, and this is important, because nobody can reach him, even from rooftops, and when he flies, he flies really high above.

Once a house was on fire, he flew in and saved the house’s guest, and he lived happily ever after.

Yanduri

Oda al Bobcat Superhéroe

Había una vez un Bobcat que era superhéroe
El Bobcat era Batman y era divertido
El Bobcat era muy chiquito como un bebé
Al Bobcat le gusta comer conejos e insectos
Mi Bobcat es invisible como nada
También mi Bobcat puede saltar muy alto hasta el cielo
El color de mi Bobcat es de manchas cafés
Los Bobcats tienen muy buena vista y les gusta
También pueden oler muy bien
Por la noche ellos pueden ver muy bien
Para agarrar su comida

Ode to Bobcat, the Super Hero

Once upon a time, there was a Bobcat who was a super hero
This Bobcat’s name was Batman and he was fun
This Bobcat was tiny like a baby
He liked to eat rabbits and bugs
My Bobcat is invisible
Also my Bobcat can jump very high in the sky
My Bobcat’s fur has brown spots
Bobcats have impressive eyesight, which they enjoy
They also have great sense of smell
At night, they have great vision
Which helps them grab their food

Kayla

Soy las estrellas

Soy una princesa que le encanta bailar
Yo uso una faldita con un chongo
Yo huelo dulce
Mi vestido es negro y rosita
Soy las historias que me gusta leer
Como ‘Ricitos de oro’
El libro huele a osos
El libro tiene dibujes
Soy el caldo de pollo de mi abuelita
Huele a pollito
Yo soy feliz
Luego ya me voy a dormir
Soy los experimentos que me encanta hacer
Como una piñata
Los experimentos
Cuando nos ensuciamos
Huele a pintura
Soy las estrellas que brillan en el cielo
Las estrellas son color blanco
Huele a pasto verde

I Am the Stars

I am a princess who loves dancing
I wear a fancy skirt and a bun
My smell is sweet
My dress is black and pinky
I am the stories I like to read
Such as ‘Goldilocks’
The book smells like bears
The book has drawings
I am grandma’s chicken soup
It smells like chicken
I am happy
And then I go to sleep
I am the experiments that I love to try
Like making a piñata
These experiments
When we get dirty
It smells like paint
I am the stars that shine in the sky
The stars are white
It smells like green grass

Angelique

world tigers ms lopez

Yo soy

Yo soy las estrellas en la noche
Yo soy la luna y el sol
Yo soy la galaxia y los planetas
Yo soy de cinco idiomas en todo el mundo
Yo soy el agua en el río
Yo soy las estrellas en la noche
Yo soy diferentes partes del mundo, como Alemania
Yo soy los tigres en el mundo
Yo soy el jugo de fruta que me tomo
Yo soy lo que yo quiero hacer
Yo soy las estrellas en la noche
Yo soy la sopa de mi papá, que es de pollo
Yo soy el corazón de todos del América
Yo soy los minutos en el tiempo
Yo soy de todos los colores del arcoiris
Yo soy las estrellas en la noche

I Am

I am the stars in the night
I am the moon and the sun
I am the galaxy and the planets
I am five languages from all around the world
I am water in the river
I am the stars in the night
I am from different parts around the world, like Germany
I am the tigers in the world
I am the fruit juice that I enjoy
I am what I want to do
I am the stars in the night
I am my father’s soup, chicken soup
I am the heart of all those who live in America
I am the minutes that make the time
I am all the rainbow’s colors
I am the stars in the night

Jacqueline

Mi gatito

Yo tengo un gatito
Mi gato tiene cuatro pies, dos ojos
Mi gato tiene anaranjado y negro
Y tiene bigotes
Estoy feliz con mi gatito
Mi gatito es chiquito
Y huele bueno
Tengo un ratón para mi gatito
Cuando puse la cámara en la computadora
Salieron fotos de gatitos
Mi gatito tiene hambre
Y estaba feliz por darle comida
Y cuando terminó de comer su comida mi gatito
Le di leche

My Little Cat

I have a little cat
He has four legs, two eyes
My cat is black and orange
He has a mustache
My little cat makes me happy
My little cat is nice and small
And he smells good
I’ve got him a mouse
When I turn on the camera on the computer
Pictures of cats popped up
My little cat is hungry
And feeding him makes me happy
When my little cat finished his food
I gave him milk

José

Leave a Reply

