Ms. Garcia’s Badgerdog Writers at Brown Elementary

16 Apr

What an energetic and creative class! Every session, Ms. García’s students were eager to write and read and share their pieces with each other; they thrived on pushing the boundaries of the original and finding new meanings to common names and words. We kicked off the workshop by penning a poem called “Yo Soy (I Am),” where they introduced themselves with impressive and touching results. Then we drew inspiration from Pablo Neruda’s “Ode to French Fries” and wrote  mind-bending odes to common things, such as chocolate, tigers, or Wal-Mart. Next we ventured to create a new superhero out of TA Brown’s mascot, the Bobcat, and the kids wrote  fantastic stories about him. They also worked on finding stories hidden in the names of the people they love the most and challenged themselves to revise their work. I was thoroughly impressed by the creativity, hard work, and enthusiasm of these budding writers. After you read their pieces, I’m sure you will be, too.

– Antonio Ruiz-Camacho
Badgerdog Teaching Artist

Yo Soy

Yo soy un nombre
Yo soy una estrella
Yo soy un corazón
Yo soy un toro
Yo soy un libro
Yo soy una silla
Yo soy un bebé
Yo soy un asiento
Yo soy una computadora
Yo soy un taco
Yo soy un papel
Yo soy una palabra
Yo soy una mariposa
Yo soy un ángel
Yo soy las manos
Yo soy los ojos
Yo soy una chaqueta
Yo soy los materiales
Yo soy los zapatos
Yo soy los números
Yo soy una niña
Yo soy una taquería
Yo soy un carro
Yo soy un tigre
Yo soy una comida
Yo soy un reloj
Yo soy palabras en inglés
Yo soy un examen
Yo soy una bomba
Yo soy un ojo feo
Yo soy una cámara
Yo soy arte
Yo soy un fólder
Yo soy mi nombre
Yo soy la luz
Yo soy una clase
Yo soy un juego
Yo soy el boss
Yo soy lego
Yo soy una playa
Yo soy un lápiz
Yo soy una mesa
Yo soy un público
Yo soy lente
Yo soy agua
Yo soy un plato roto
Yo soy un estíquer
Yo soy una yuca
Yo soy un teléfono
Yo soy una rana
Yo soy una cana
Yo soy un árbol
Yo soy una flor

I am

I am a name
I am a star
I am a heart
I am a bull
I am a book
I am a chair
I am a baby
I am a seat
I am a computer
I am a taco
I am a sheet of paper
I am a word
I am a butterfly
I am an angel
I am my hands
I am my eyes
I am a jacket
I am materials
I am shoes
I am numbers
I am a girl
I am a taquería
I am a car
I am a tiger
I am a meal
I am a clock
I am words in English
I am a test
I am a bomb
I am an ugly eye
I am a camera
I am art
I am a folder
I am my name
I am light
I am a class
I am a game
I am ‘el boss’
I am a lego
I am a beach
I am a pencil
I am a table
I am an audience
I am a lens
I am water
I am a broken plate
I am an ‘estíquer’
I am yucca
I am a telephone
I am a frog
I am a grey hair
I am a tree
I am a flower

Ricardo

5565809069_3efc2c3ffc

Yo Soy

Yo soy un dinosaurio de columpios
Yo soy un Lego City de melón
Yo soy una carretera de libros
Soy unos lentes de luz
Soy un Lego de dinosaurios de corazón
Soy una estrella que quema el sol
Soy un monstruo
Soy un carro
Soy una bomba de melón

I Am

I am the dinosaur of swings
I am a melon Lego City
I am a highway of books
I am light glasses
I am a dinosaur Lego made of hearts
I am a star that burns the sun
I am a monster
I am a car
I am a melon bomb

Dairon

Super Boby

Yo soy un bobcat. Me llamo Súper Boby. Soy bonito, cafecito, chiquito y adorable. Te atrapo con mis ojitos; ése es mi poder. Yo vuelo al espacio y puedo respirar. Yo no tengo miedo.

Un día yo escuché el teléfono. Alguien me dijo: “¿Boby, dónde estás?” No supe quién era, pero me fui al planeta rojo. No lo podía creer, era mi hermana, que es bonita. La salvé y fui al planeta Tierra otra vez con mi snack que agarré.

Vi un malo. Salí de la casa y lo mandé a la cárcel de volada.

Super Boby

I am a bobcat. My name is Super Boby. I am pretty, nice, brown, and adorable. I catch you with my little eyes–that’s my super power. I fly high to space, and I can breathe. I am not afraid.

One day, the telephone rang. Someone said, “Where are you, Boby?” I didn’t know who it was, but I headed to the red planet anyway. I couldn’t believe it–it was my sister, who is pretty. I saved her and went back to earth along with a snack I grabbed on the go.

I saw a bad guy. I came out and sent him to jail right away.

Annette

Yo Soy

Yo soy corazón de melón
Yo fui a Austin Park Pizza
Yo vi un payaso, tenía su nariz roja
y sus labios pintados de rojo
¡Wow, está divertido!
Yo soy una artista, y me río y soy feliz
¡Wow, soy una bailarina!
Yo soy un solecito chiquito, color amarillito
Yo soy una princesa con un vestido rosa y flores

I Am

I am a melon heart
I went to Austin Park Pizza
I saw a clown–his nose was red
And his lips had red lipstick
Wow, it was fun!
I am an artist–I’m happy and I laugh
Wow, I’m a ballerina!
I’m a little sun, nice and yellow
I am a princess with a pink dress, and flowers

Ashley

2683269707_b4282a120f

Súper Bobcat

Un día en Nueva York, a las 7:30, el señor Bobcat escuchó la alarma de ¡Socorro!

Se fue volando y llegó a tiempo porque el malo apenas iba a matar a la persona. Quiso hacer algo y tuvo una idea, y se preguntó si era una buena idea. Sacó su pistola y amarró al malo. Sacó su teléfono y llamó a la policía.

El policía se llevó al malo por 32 semanas, ¡y Súper Bobcat fue el héroe del mundo por millones de años!

Super Bobcat

Once upon a time in New York, it was 7:30, and Mr. Bobcat heard the emergency alarm. Help!

He went out flying and got there just in time as the bad guy was about to kill his victim. He wanted to do something. He had an idea and he wondered if it was a good one. He took out his gun and tied up the bad guy. He took out his phone and called the police.

The police took the bad guy away for thirty-two weeks, and Super Bobcat was the world’s hero for millions of years!

Lorenzo

Andrea y Ashley

Había una vez unas princesas en un castillo. Ellas se llamaban Andrea y Ashley. Eran grandes y eran las mejores hermanas. Sus vestidos eran de color rosa.

Un día, Andrea fue al bosque a recoger manzanas y Ashley fue a buscarla. Ashley estaba triste. Andrea fue al castillo y Ashley también. Ahí la bruja les hizo una trampa. Luego vino su hada y las salvó, y ellas fueron felices para siempre.

Andrea and Ashley

Once upon a time, there were two princesses in a castle. Their names were Andrea and Ashley. They were big, and they were best sisters. Their dresses were nice and pink.

One day, Andrea went to the forest to pick up some apples and Ashley went to look for her. Ashley was sad. Andrea went back to the castle and so did Ashley. There, the witch set them up. Along came the fairy and saved them, and they lived happily ever after.

Krista

The Robber Goes to Jail

The robber goes to jail every day because he throws 90 nails in each window, so he can break lamps, TVs, pencils, paper, folders, and copy paper machines.

But when the adults see him, they call the police, and they take him to jail.

Eduardo

Yo Soy

Yo soy un dinosaurio con garras
Con cuatro ojos y con garras
Yo soy Dios
Yo soy Lego City
Yo soy un lápiz de chocolate
Con color amarillo y rojo y gris, y café
Yo soy una gallina
Yo soy un cartón
Yo soy una pelota

I Am

I am a dinosaur with claws
With four eyes and claws
I am God
I am Lego City
I am a chocolate pencil
With colors yellow and red and grey and brown
I am a hen
I am a piece of cardboard
I am a ball

Jonathan

7259550532_8d8e359178

Súper Bob

Un día había un superhéroe. Era alto, peludo y vivía en el bosque con su mamá. Era un bobcat llamado Bob.

Un día Súper Bob estaba en su casa. De repente sonó el teléfono. Era su jefe, que le dijo: “¡Bob, te necesitamos en el espacio!” Bob dijo: “No te preocupes, puedo mirar a través de cosas y soy súper fuerte.” El jefe dijo: “¡OK!”

Tuvo que ponerse su uniforme. ¡Al espacio! Confrontó a su peor enemigo. Era el marciano de cuatro brazos y cuarto piernas. Así que se fue a la luna y Súper Bob… ¡ganó!

Super Bob

Once upon a time there was a superhero. He was tall and hairy, and he lived in the forest with his mom. He was a bobcat called Bob.

One day Super Bob was at home. All of a sudden, the telephone rang. It was his boss, who said, “Bob, we need you in space!” Bob said, “Don’t worry, I can look through things and am super strong.” His boss said, “Okay!”

He had to put his suit on. To space! He confronted his nemesis. It was the four-armed, four-legged Martian. So, he headed out to the Moon and Super Bob… prevailed!

Natali

Yo Soy

Yo soy tierra y soy una montaña con queso
Yo soy un dinosaurio fuerte con chocolate
Yo soy un gallo que canta mucho
Yo soy un cachorrito que canta mucho
Yo soy un gato que toma mucho
Yo soy un león que ruge mucho
Yo soy una pelota que rebota mucho
Yo soy Bob Esponja y como esponja
Yo soy un mundo lleno de Coca
Yo soy unos lentes de agua de luz
Yo soy la noche que no hace ruido
Yo soy un pájaro lleno de queso
Yo soy un ave que canta
Yo soy tu conejo gracioso
Yo soy una guacamaya de queso derretido
Yo soy un huarache que pega
Yo soy una silla que se mueve
Yo soy una bruja que es de chocolate
Yo soy una almohada que es pelona
Yo soy un agua pelona
Yo soy un chango con pelo chino
Yo soy una rana de baile
Yo soy un tutú con vestido
Yo soy un globo con aretes
Yo soy Jonathan con garras
Yo soy una casa pelona
Yo soy un coche con jugo
Yo soy un pino de banana
Yo soy un queso pelonzote
Hola, yo soy Mark y a mí me gusta el queso derretido

I Am

I am soil and a mountain with cheese
I am a strong dinosaur with chocolate
I am a rooster that sings too much
I am a cat that drinks too much
I am a lion that roars too much
I am a ball that bounces too much
I am Spongebob, and I eat sponges
I am a world full of Coke
I am some glasses made of water light
I am the silent night
I am a bird full of cheese
I am a bird that sings
I am your funny rabbit
I am parrot with melted cheese
I am a sandal that strikes
I am a chair that moves around
I am a chocolate witch
I am a baldy pillow
I am baldy water
I am a monkey with curly hair
I am a dancing frog
I am a tutued dress
I am a balloon that wears earrings
I am Jonathan with claws
I am a baldy house
I am a car with juice
I am a banana pine
I am baldy cheese
Hi, I am Mark, and I loved melted cheese

Mark

3707907487_73bb96ec37

Raquel García

Aquel día, Raquel García fue a la escuela. Se hizo la graciosa, se puso un traje de Batman y se puso a volar en el cielo. Raquel era muy amable. Hacía siempre su tarea. Raquel era grande y fuerte. Tenía 25 años. Tenía músculos muy gigantescos.

Ella se dijo: “Voy a ir al parque a disfrutar de este día”. Se encontró con una nota que decía: “Raquel, te quiero conocer, eres muy buena y muy amable. Te quiere, Eli”.

Raquel García

That day, Raquel Garcia went to school. She got quirky; she put on her Batman suit and went out to fly the sky. Raquel was very kind. She always made her homework. Raquel was big and strong. She was 25. She had really huge muscles.

She said to herself, “I’ll go to the park and enjoy this day.” She found a note that said, Raquel, I want to meet you, you are very nice and kind. With love, Eli.

Eli

Yo Soy

Yo soy un plato de color blanco
Soy una galleta redonda y de color amarillo
La galleta sabe rico
Yo me quiero comer yo sola
Mi mamá me dice como en la casa
Andreyuca
Y me siento triste porque no quiero
que me diga Andreyuca

I Am

I am a white plate
I am a round and yellow cookie
The cookie is very tasty
I want to eat myself
Mom calls me when at home
Andreyuca
And I feel sad because I don’t want
to be called Andreyuca

Andrea

Yo Soy

Yo soy un plato
Yo quiero comer
Yo soy una cuchara
Yo soy un tenedor
A mí me gusta jugar
A mí me gusta estar afuera
A mí me gusta tomar leche
A mí me gusta
Tomar leche
Yo quiero ser un taco
A mí me gusta comer mucho

I Am

I am a plate
I want to eat
I am a spoon
I am a fork
I like to play
I like to be outside
I like to drink milk
I like
To drink milk
I want to be a taco
I like to eat a lot

Clarissa

Leave a Reply

