A Scientific Inquiry of Beauty from Brown Elementary

14 May

This spring, Ms. Cordova’s third-grade plant scientists gathered to answer the important questions of the world: What are seeds dreaming, and who are their friends? How do roots taste? Why are stems so tall and skinny? (Is it because they skipped breakfast today?) What if leaves were fish? Do flowers like spaghetti? And, of course, why are apples bald and fat? These brilliant, passionate writers took the tools of science—using senses to observe the world, asking important questions, and testing out theories—and danced the line between fact and fiction, observation and imagination. The result is honest, delicious, and smells just like a tomato plant to me.

Tricia Hassenfeld
Badgerdog Teaching Artist

20140408_112259

Yo soy una flor

por Escritores Científicos de la Srta. Córdova

Yo soy un girasol; yo necesito agua, sol y aire.
Soy un girasol como el sol.
Yo soy bonita y feo.
Yo soy flaca.
Yo soy algo fuerte.
Yo soy malo.
Yo soy una princesa.
Yo soy como limonada.
Soy como el sol amarillo y bonito y feo y hermoso.
Soy como un árbol de pescados.
Los pétalos se parecen como estrellas y corazones.
Digo: “Hola mama, quiero sopa y agua.”
Veo una raíz.
Yo oigo una flor y un ruido.
Yo pruebo como un pie.
Yo me siento como el hormiga.
Yo se que un animal vive el la planta.
Y también me gusta la agua como mi hermana, la persona se llama Senorita Chica.
Mi flor se llama Patricia.
Tengo semillas en una parte cafe y tengo una parte como una cosa blanca que es mi raíz.
No me gusta espagueti.
Me encanta la agua.
Me encanta las puerquitos.
Me encanta comer comida.
Me encanta la flor.

I Am a Flower

by Ms. Cordova’s Science Writers

I am a sunflower; I need water, sun, and air.
I am a sunflower like the sun.
I am beautiful and ugly.
I am skinny.
I am somewhat strong.
I am mean.
I am a princess.
I am like lemonade.
I’m like the yellow and beautiful and ugly and gorgeous sun.
I’m like a tree of fish.
The petals seem like stars and hearts.
I say, “Hello, Mama. I want soup and water.”
I see a root.
I hear a flower and a noise.
I taste like a foot.
I feel like an ant.
I know that an animal lives in the plant.
And also, I like the water like my sister, the person called Ms. Chica.
My flower is called Patricia.
I have seeds in a brown part, and I have a part like a white thing that is my root.
I don’t like spaghetti.
I love water.
I love piglets.
I love to eat food.
I love the flower.

20140408_112250

Semillas/ Seeds

La semilla necesita agua
La semilla ama el color marrón
La semilla necesita sol
La semilla necesita una casa
La semilla necesita mucho sol
La semilla es soñar con una planta
La semilla es de Australia
Su nombre es Little Cleó

The seed needs water
The seed loves the color brown
The seed needs sun
The seed needs a house
The seed needs a lot of sun
The seed is dreaming about a plant
The seed is from Australia
Her name is Little Cleo

Leslie Zavala

Preguntas para mi semilla

¿Cuándo va a llover?
¿Dónde vives?
¿Dónde crece desde?
¿Tienes amigos?
¿Tiene un nombre?

Questions For My Seed

When will it rain?
Where do you live?
Where do you grow from?
Do you have friends?
Do you have a name?

Jared

20140408_112028

Raíces y Tallos / Roots and Stems

Las raíces tienen el pelo como el pelo de un perro o como nubes
Huelo rico
En el tallo se siente suave
Se esta moviendo la planta
Es mojado

The roots have hair like a dog’s hair or like clouds
Fresh smell
On the stem, it feels soft
The plant is moving
It is wet

Daniel

Untitled

La planta tiene pelo como amarillo
y las plantas necesitan raices para qué no se caiga.
Y yo las miro
y huele a rico
saben a fresa
y yo las toco y estan rasposas
y toco las raices y estan mojadas.
Y la planta es de tomate.
Y la planta es chicita.

The plant has hair like yellow
and the plants need roots so that they don’t fall.
I look at them
and they smell fresh,
taste like a strawberry.
And I touch them and they are scratchy,
and I touch the roots and they are wet.
And the plant is tomato.
And the plant is a little girl.

Jimena

Flores / Flowers

Yo soy una sol planta amarilla
Yo soy amarilla negra y cafe
Yo soy bonita y feliz
Yo tomo agua
Yo digo que soy loca
Yo veo semillas en mis petales
Yo oigo agua en el jardin
Yo huelo la tierra
Yo pruebo la tierra
Yo me siento loca
Yo sé a ser mi propia comida
Me gusta la agua
No me gusta las semillas
Me encanta la agua
Y soy bonita como una reina

I am a yellow sun plant
I’m black, yellow and brown
I am beautiful and happy
I drink water
I say I’m crazy
I see seeds in my petals
I hear water in the garden
I smell the soil
I taste the earth
I feel crazy
I know how to be my own food
I like the water
I do not like the seeds
I love the water
And I’m beautiful like a queen

Alexander

20140408_112240

Yo soy una cosa como el sol

Yo soy muy amarillo
Yo soy grande
Soy como el sol
Digo algo
Yo veo el sol
Oigo pájaros
Huelo agua
Pruebo agua
Me siento bien
Yo sé a ser mi comida
Me gusta la agua
No me gusta la sombra
Me encanta el agua y el sol
Y soy como el sol amarillo y tengo semillas en una parte cafe y tengo una parte como una cosa blanca es rais

I Am a Thing Like the Sun

I am very yellow
I am big
I’m like the sun
I say something
I see the sun
I hear birds
I smell water
I taste water
I feel good
I know my food
I like the water
I do not like the shade
I love water and sunshine
And I’m like the yellow sun
And I have seeds in a brown part
And I have a part like a white thing that is my root

Miguel

Frutas / Fruit

Querido Fresa,

Usted tiene jugo dulce y tiene semillas. Usted es mi fruta favorita en todo el mundo.

Atentamente,
Jennifer

Dear Strawberry,

You have sweet juice, and you have seeds. You are my favorite fruit in the whole world.

Sincerely,
Jennifer

20140408_112042

Querido Apple,

Tiene semillas
sabor dulce
corteza dura
suena crujientes
Me encanta porque es sabroso
olor a jugo de manzana
Me haces feliz

Desde

Jalen

Dear Apple,

Has seeds
tastes sweet
crust hard
sounds crunchy
I love it because it is tasty
smell apple juice
You make me happy

From

Jalen

Querido manzana roja,

Te miras como roja.
Y hueles como limón.
Te miras como carne.
Te sabes como dulce y pelo.
Te sientes como mariquita.
Estas fuerte como mesa.
Te miras bonita.
Tu no tienes pelo.

Atentamente,
Hugo

Dear Red Apple,

You look like red.
And you smell like lemon.
You look like meat.
You taste like sweet and hair.
You feel like a ladybug.
You are strong as a table.
You look beautiful.
You are bald.

Sincerely,
Hugo

20140408_112208

Untitled

Lo que sé de la manzana es que las plantas tienen su color como rojo, verde, amarillo. Y también suena como una planta, porque esta fruta tiene una semilla porque la gente compra una bolsa de semillas y como un fruto que podemos comer, y la gente a comer, porque si ellos pueden comer el parque, se puede comer y cerrar. Y las manzanas se parecen mucho como una pera porque su color se mira como verde y la manzana es suave. Y la planta puede crecer porque la planta necesita agua, sol, tierra porque asi puede tener mucha fruta para comer y la planta se va a sentir muy feliz porque le puse agua, sol, tiera y asi puede tener muchas bolsas porque asi puedes tener mucha fruta. Y el jugo se sale y nos podemos tomar porque tiene de la manzana y te asi muy miel y tera puedes tomar porque es jugo. Y te la come y puedes tomar y puedes crecer.

What I know about the apple is that plants have a color like red, green, yellow. And also it sounds like a plant because this fruit has a seed because people buy a bag of seeds and as a fruit that we can eat, and people will eat it because if they can eat the park, they can eat and close. And apples seem so much like a pear because its color looks like green, and the apple is smooth. And the plant can grow because the plant needs water, sun, and soil because it may well have lots of fruit to eat, and the plant will feel very happy because I put water, sun, and soil for it, and there will be so many bags because you can have so much fruit. And the juice comes out and we can drink it because it has apple in it, and so you really can drink honey and feel better because it is juice. And you eat it and you can drink it and you can grow.

Yamileth

Queridas Frutas,

Todas las frutas son buenas porque tienen jugo y también tienen semillas todas las frutas pero las bananas no tienen semillas. Son como un telefono. La fresa se llama Patricia.

Dear Fruits,

All fruits are good because they have seeds and juice. All fruits but bananas: they do not have seeds. They are like a phone. The strawberry is called Patricia.

Prisila

20140408_112322

Querida Blueberry,

Un día te compré. Su savia era muy feo poreso no me gusta que si me gusta el color azul.

Love,
Ashley

Querida Manzana,

Tienes mucho sabor. Me das energía como el sol. Eres muy roja como carne. Porque tienes cascara. You are so crunchy.

Sincerely,
Ashley

Queridas frutas,

Mango gracias por tu sabor.
Piña tu rimas con esta niña.
Pera eres verde como las plantas.
Banana eres amarilla como un helote.
Fresa no me gusta el color rosa porque no eres azul.
Sensiramente
Ashley

Dear Blueberry,

One day I bought you. Your sap was very ugly because I don’t like you if I like the color blue.

Love,
Ashley

20140408_112228

Dear Apple,

You have so much flavor. You give me energy like the sun. You are very red like meat. That’s because you have a shell. You are so crunchy.

Sincerely,
Ashley

Dear fruits,

Mango, thank you for your flavor.
Piña, you rhyme with esta niña.
Pear, you are green like plants.
Banana, you are yellow like helote.
Strawberry, I don’t like the color pink because you are not blue.

Sincerely,
Ashley

20140408_112307

Mi fruta favorita es banano

  1. Mi fruta huele a banana
  2. Mi fruta es larga
  3. Mi banano es bonito
  4. Mi banano es muy rico
  5. Mi banano es muy ricísima para comer
  6. Banano es amarillo
  7. Mi banano huele a manzana y sucar

My Favorite Fruit Is Banana

  1. My fruit smells like banana
  2. My fruit is long
  3. My banana is beautiful
  4. My banana is very sweet
  5. My banana is the sweetest to eat
  6. Banana is yellow
  7. My banana smells like apple and sugar

Jose

20140408_112313

Untitled

A mi me gusta el mango porque el mango sabe rico
y le puedes echar chile que venden en la tienda como si tu le echas chile or no le echas nada y delisioso el mango yo mi papa nos gusta el mango toda mi familia le gusta el mango.

Me gusta la manzana.
Huele a manzana.
Se puede aplastar.
La manzana sabe rica.
La manzana es roja.
La manzana tiene semilla.
La manzana se puede comer.
La manzana se llama Ms. Tricia.
Hay muchas manzanas que venden.

Sinceramente,
Leslie Martinez

I like mango because mango tastes sweet and you can take it with chile that they sell at the store, so if you have it with chile or nothing, the mango is delicious. My papa and I like mangos. My whole family likes mango.

I like the apple.
It smells like apple.
You can crush it.
The apple tastes sweet.
The apple is red.
The apple has seeds.
The apple can be eaten.
The apple is named Ms. Tricia.
There are many apples that they sell.

Sincerely,
Leslie Martinez

20140408_112117

Untitled

La manzana se ve como una mariquita. Huele como plátano. Sabe rico. Tiene mucho jugo.

Dear apple,
Mi me gusta las manzanas porque tienen jugo y sabe rico y huele como platano y se ve como una mariquita.

The apple looks like a ladybug. It smells like plantain. It tastes delicious. It has a lot of juice.

Dear apple,
I like apples because they have juice, taste sweet, smell like plantain, and look like a ladybug.

Diego

Untitled

Querido Mango: Eres tan sabroso como dulces. Eres naranja. Eres adorable y te guste con chile, sal y limon. Tú eres como el azúcar. Eres delicioso. Tú eres mi mejor amigo. Sé que voy a comerte.

Dear Mango: You are so tasty like candy. You are orange. You are adorable and I like you with chile, salt, and lemon. You are like sugar. You are delicious. You are my best friend. Know I’m going to eat you.

Vanessa

20140408_112216

Para manzana

Yo veo la manzana como una mariquita
esta bien rica y traer jugo
y esta bien rica hasta que quiere otra
manzana que traer mucho y mas es rico
y te quiero decir mi favorita fruta es cereza
y todas las frutas estan bien ricas
y gracias por la manzana

For Apple

I see the apple as a ladybug.
It is good and sweet and brings us juice.
And it is so sweet that it makes me want another
apple that brings so much and more is delicious
and I want to say that my favorite fruit is cherry
and all fruits are good and sweet
and thank you for the apple.

Jessica

20140408_112140

Querida manzana

Tu hueles a manzana
Suenas como crack
¿Cómo lo haces?
Sabes como el jugo de manzana
Haces que me dan ganas de conseguir más

Querido pera

Eres tan bueno
Cuando me lo como, me haces deliciosa
No tienes lados
La pera se mira a un triángulo.

Dear apple

You smell like apple.
You sound like crack.
How do you do it?
You taste like apple juice.
You make me want to get more.

Dear pear

You are so good.
When I eat you, you make me delicious.
You don’t have sides.
You look like a triangle.

Angel

Leave a Reply

