The Strangest Things Happen

3 Apr

Each year in our Spring Break writing workshops, we meet a handful of precocious young writers who’ve given up part of their vacation to imagine, create, and funnel their unique thoughts onto the page. Today we’re excited to feature Andrew Li, a second-grader with a circus of an imagination. His poem explores how fantastical (and absurd and smelly!) our dreams can be. But also how playful and wondrous.

4313183909_0d20791144_z

Funny Dream

Last night as I was sleeping, 
I dreamed I found a hippo in my butt,
and it bit my insides. 

Last night as I was sleeping, 
I dreamed I drank a monkey in my armpits,
which ooo-ooo, aaa-aaa was trying to find a way out. 

Last night as I was sleeping, 
I dreamed I exploded a rhino in my foot, 
and he poked his horn against my toenail. 

Last night as I was sleeping, 
I dreamed I caught a giant banana in my bellybutton,
which attracted 1,000 monkeys to come play on my belly.

Andrew Li, 2nd grade, Canyon Creek Elementary

Leave a Reply

