Young Writers at Ridgetop Elementary School

1 Jun

This spring, the fourth-grade writers at Ridgetop Elementary School spent six weeks with Badgerdog Teaching Artist Adeena Reitberger, examining how specific detail, memory, and narrative can create windows into our individual experiences. Their poems and stories depict sharp recollections and vivid imaginations. They tell us how to do the most unusual but necessary things. Their work is playful but attentive, filled with smells and sights and sounds, and an invitation to leave your world — for a moment — to enter into theirs.

Plants

My Name

I get happy saying my name.
Marthita
Is a name that smells like coffee and eggs.
It makes people unsure.

I get nervous when I don’t know you.
I turn the color red.

My name tastes like sweet candy, chocolate, and pie,
All the things that make you feel loved.

When you love me I turn green
Like the plants.

When you touch my name it feels soft
Like a blanket. It makes me even softer.
But other times when I am nervous,
It feels fuzzy and scared.

Marthita Marquez

I Remember

I remember a time I ate an amazing sandwich.
I remember a birthday that happened not too long ago. It was fun.
I remember a time I watched a cool television show.
I remember a time I read an awesome book.
I remember a time I got angry with somebody for some reason.
I remember a time I went sneaking for food in a cabinet.
I remember an ice cream flavor I liked. I remember a time I got in trouble.
I remember a time it was a really special holiday.
I remember a time my mom and I saved a possum but still had to kill him.
I remember a time I ate a lot of candy. They were jellybeans.

Paolo Alegre-Murphy

Horse

Safety

I feel safe with my mom because she protects me and feeds me.
A place I feel safe is in my bedroom under the covers because I am in the dark and alone.
I feel free when I am riding a horse because when it is running the wind is blowing in my face and it feels good.
A place I can laugh is in the classroom because everybody does really weird stuff.
A place I feel rejuvenated is on the soccer field because I get to run around.
An item of clothing that is a sanctuary is my fluffy jacket because I feel so warm and safe.
A place I feel like myself is with animals at the zoo because I love animals.
A place I feel relaxed is at my house on the couch because I get to lie down.

Tallulah Wilson

My Name

My name is
Kadellyn.

I get joyful saying my name.
Kadellyn
Is a name that smells like chocolate and cookies.

I get shy
When I don’t know you.
I turn red.

My name tastes like cookies and cream, bacon, lollipops, and coconut.
When you love me, I turn pink like flowers.

When you touch my name, it feels exciting, like seeing baby dogs.
But other times, when I am sad, it feels like not eating chocolate anymore.

Kadellyn Ulloa

Sandwich

How to Make the Weirdest Sandwich for Weird Kids

Step 1: Gather your materials such as sand, witches, jalapeños, chocolate, ketchup, nail clippings, ears, animal food, and bread.

Step 2: Toast your bread.

Step 3: Put the sand, witches, jalapenos, chocolates, ketchup, nail clippings, ears, and animal food on a piece of bread.

Step 4: Put another piece of bread on top.

Step 5: Cut it in half.

Step 6: Eat and enjoy by force.

Claudia Guerrero

How to Get in Trouble for Billy Bob

  1. First, go to the bookshelf.
  2. Take down a few books and fling them across the room.
  3. (If you really feel like getting in trouble) go to a window and get a book. Throw the book through the window.
  4. Get a burger and cover it in ketchup. Throw it at the nearest person (except yourself).
  5. After that (if you can), get some small explosives (if you get big ones you’re really in trouble). Go to the sidewalk leading to your house. (If you have one. If not, put them in your yard). Put them on top and light the fuse.
  6. I think by now you will be in enough trouble.

Liam Bradley

Lilypads

My Name

I get joyful saying my name.
Liliana
is a name that smells like a pond filled with lilypads

And a field covered in dew.
It makes people smile
When they finally pronounce it right.

I get shy and nervous when I don’t know you.
I turn bright red.

My name tastes like popcorn, pop rocks, a very crunchy cracker, and a mouth full of potato chips (with all the syllables in my name).

When you love me, I turn hot and warm, and cuddle like a giant stuffed animal.
When you touch my name, it feels spiky, like jagged cliffs.
But other times, when I feel loved, it feels soft.

Liliana Rodriguez

The Big Gasp

It was a Sunday morning, and everybody was reading in the living room in my house in Mueller. It was 11:00 am sharp. We were all reading quietly and peacefully. Then, suddenly, there was a big gasp at 11:01. Everyone looked outside, and then everyone looked at me. I had done the crime. I had interrupted the silent reading! Then we all looked at each other, and we started cracking up so hard it nearly took us thirty minutes to calm down.

 

Sophia Kramer

Mayonnaise

The Mayonnaise

Once upon a time, two years ago, there lived a magical refrigerator in my house. No one ever ate the mayonnaise, including my mom, my dad, and me!

One day, the mayonnaise disappeared. I tried to find out what happened to it, but the mayonnaise was nowhere to be seen. Finally, my mom and I started a spying company. We spied on my dad a few times, but he didn’t eat it.

One day, the mayonnaise disappeared. I tried to find out what happened to it, but the mayonnaise was nowhere to be seen. Finally, my mom and I started a spying company. We spied on my dad a few times, but he didn’t eat it.

Then we started spying on neighborhood pets and people, and we saw a black cat jump into our house through the window. The cat went into the kitchen and took the mayonnaise! He must have had powers because he made a chicken salad with it! Then, all of a sudden, we realized he was our cat. Super Cat!

To be continued…

Kei Yarbrough

 

How to Yell Out Random Words for Peeps Who Are Too Smart for This

 

Step 1: Gather people who are too smart for this.

Step 2: Make them dumb by lecturing them with an Elmo.

Step 3: Brainwash them with a sponge, soap, and water.

Step 4: Pickle break!

Step 5: Stalk them until they say random things.

Step 6: Be proud of yourself for doing the omnivore swag!

Step 7: High-five Elmo!

 

Luis Rangel

Roses

 

My Name

I get happy saying my name.
Destiny
Is a name that smells like roses and trees.
It makes people happy.

I get shy when I don’t know you.
I turn blue and purple.

My name tastes
Like cherries, strawberries, bacon, and sour apples.

When you love me, I turn pink,
Like my cheeks.
When you touch my name, it feels soft
Like my hair.
But other times, when I am happy,
It feels great.

Destiny Kincheon

 

My Sanctuary

 

There is one person and place that makes me feel like there is a place that is a sanctuary, and it is my grandmother and her house. My grandmother’s house is big and grassy and full of flowers. It smells like nature and all the love and hard work she puts into it. A long time ago, my grandmother had a big tree that she put her pride into, but it got too old, so we had to cut it down. We will always remember that tree she put her pride into.

 

Maia Rodriguez

Candles

I Remember

I remember a new sandwich that soon became my favorite.
I remember my birthday with candles all aglow.
I remember my sister, who I tickled from head to toe.
I remember mint chocolate-chip dripping down my chin.
I remember July, when fireworks were in.
I remember I giggled when my TV show was on.
And also when they played a silly song.
I remember my friend was really bright.
She almost burned out the light.
I remember the time I got in trouble. I sat in the corner looking real sad.
I remember an item in the refrigerator.
It sat there all day. Then we threw it away.
I remember my favorite candy with caramel and ate it everywhere.
I remember an animal—very wild. She peed on the tile.
I remember my favorite color—it was dressed in purple and pink.

Marcela Hernandez

 

I Remember

 

I remember when I made my first sandwich. It was terrible.
I remember my second birthday. I was sick. It got canceled.
I remember when I found a great ice cream flavor—salted caramel.
I remember when I was eight on Easter and we were led to my pool and we found a bunch of presents.
I remember when I could not stop watching a TV show.
I remember when I first met my kindergarten teacher. I was scared she was mean, but she was not.
I remember when my best friend and I were going to go to the same school, but we didn’t.
I remember when I got in trouble and I thought I was going to jail.
I remember when I saw an item in the refrigerator that was not what it really was.
I remember when I got my puppy Picchu.
I remember when I got super duper sour candy.
I remember when I found my favorite color: blue.
I remember when I used to love to play with the cards in the classroom.
I remember when I started loving shorts and dresses.
I remember when my family went to Machu Picchu.
I remember loving Wonder. I would never put it down.

 

Esme Moreno

Ocean

In My Sanctuary

Last year, I was afraid to go out far in the ocean. But my sister came, so I was okay. At least until a wave or riptide or something pushed my sister away. There was a bunch of jellyfish by me, and then a shark came and tried to bite my toe. But my sister saved me. Yay! There were chairs everywhere on the beach, but there was just water in the ocean.

Hannah Pirie

 

My Name

 

I get nervous saying my name.
Charlie Partheymueller
Is a name that smells like freshly watered fields,
And like I’ve been running for ages.
It makes people shocked.
I get energetic when I don’t know you.
I turn red.
My name tastes like oysters, quinoa, horned melon, chewy steak, and extra buttery popcorn.
When you love me, I turn neon green like a green bell pepper.
When you touch my name, it feels smooth but bumpy, like clay.
But other times, when I am frustrated, it feels like a moving freight train.

 

Charlie Partheymuller

 

Fountain

 

How to Send an Iris Message (for People who Like Greek Gods)

 

Materials: golden drachma, big fountain of water

 

  1. Find a big fountain of water.
  2. Get out one golden drachma.
  3. Throw the golden drachma into the water.
  4. A rainbow image will soon pop up, and all you have to say to the rainbow image is the name of the person you want to contact, and what city and state they are in.
  5. Then they will pop up and you will have full contact.

 

Noah Dainton

 

I Remember

 

I remember the molasses in my refrigerator. It was really bitter.
I remember the cheese shop sandwich.
I remember my fifth birthday—there was a boy who busted his lip open.
I remember I ate the best caramel ice cream. It was in Costa Rica.
I remember my favorite one when I was little: orange.
I remember reading my favorite books.
I remember when I used to hate carrots.
I remember when I got mad about a bee.
I remember when I did a project on penguins.
I remember when I used to love Dots.

 

Ella Williams                        

 

15662653522_b25373bfb5_z

In My Sanctuary

 

Around the picnic table in my backyard passage are a bunch of plants. The first time I found the passage, I went back and sat on the picnic table and thought it was really relaxing and it felt really safe. I thought it would be a good idea to read there, so I did. I really liked reading back there, so I started doing it more. I also really like that it smelled peaceful and it had really fresh air. It tasted minty. The temperature felt cool when I was there. There were a lot of plants, and it was pretty. It sounded like birds singing, but otherwise it was pretty much silent.

 

Scarlett Stevens

 

 

Leave a Reply

