To Be of The Air…

12 Jun

In this lovely, short piece by fourth-grader Diya Wattal, the writer imagines herself becoming something barely tangible–a scent emanating from the garden. Diya authored this piece in Badgerdog’s Spring Break Writing Workshops and offers a few words about what inspired her to write this poem: “I love lavender. We have a lavender plant at home! I also noticed the strong smell of lavender, and it was really strong!”

7651564650_9d0b866788_z

If I Was A Lavender Scent …

I would make my scent so strong
that people would go away
(that’s only for the bad people, though).
The good people in this world
would smell my positive side.
The way my scent spreads is equally
good and bad for whatever person you are.
If I was any scent, it would be a lavender scent.

Diya Wattal, fourth grade, Laurel Mountain Elementary

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

