A Robust Sense of the Absurd

7 Apr

Ms. Texeira’s class was one of the most enthusiastic groups of young writers I’ve had the pleasure of working with. Whether we were writing odes, silly stories, or convincing personal essays, these writers approached every task with enthusiasm, imagination, and a robust sense of the absurd, testing the limits of their imaginations and supporting each other as writers and readers. I hope you enjoy reading these stories as much as we enjoyed writing them together!

Emily Beyda
Badgerdog Teaching Artist

Tacos

Tacos, oh tacos, you’re so sweet
But you smell like my Dad’s feet
You come from Taco Bueno
Which rhymes with my friend Deino
Sometimes I eat you on Christmas Eve
Which is my Dad’s worst pet peeve
Tacos, tacos, wait a second…
You taste like my favorite cereal, Sock-O’s!
Tacos are my favorite snack
And sometimes I sneak them in my backpack
Burritos and tacos are brothers
But they come from a different mother

Tyler

Ode to Trees

Trees, you give everything life
You provide shelter and air for the earth
Oh trees, you give everything life
You give life to the frogs on the ground
And the birds in the sky
Oh trees, you give everything life
You give life to us humans
And life to all animals
Oh trees, you give everything life
You start as a seed, and you grow over the years
And after a while, you whither and die
But just know that you give everything life

Emma

Burgers

Oh burger, you are so yummy.
With your lettuce all out, you look like a shining emerald.
And the meat is sooo nice, like chocolate.
(Um, although that is a different food. Oh, well.)
Your cheese is like the shining sun, so brave and so melted.
Ketchup like blood, red spilling everywhere.

Lee Ana

Little Soft Paw

Once upon a time, there was a really, really fuzzy little girl. Her fuzz was thick, so she was always warm. Her Mom called her My Little Soft Paw. My Little Soft Paw went on an adventure to stop King Ding-a-Dong. He lived at the bottom of the deep blue sea. He wanted the little girl for her fluff. One day, he captured her and stole all her fluff so that when she came on land, she would be cold in Canada.

Owen Ball

The Secret is Bob

Bob was an ogre, and he wanted to get more ugly, so he took his teeth out. Bob tried to eat a sandwich. When he bit into it, his gums bled. Two hours later, he was in the hospital and he was dead. Four hours later, his Mom called and she said he was in trouble again.

Anthony

A Riddle

It comes from a tree
It’s black and it’s brown
It falls on the ground
You can eat it
It can be cracked open
It is healthy to eat
It has a stem
It grows on a tree

Layla

Ode to Paper

Oh paper, a shade of white
Like wings to heaven, or freshly fallen snow
You are as soft as silk
And you contain millions of thoughts, like the Milky Way
You bend at soft, crisp angles
You are the start of a scribble, morphing slowly into beauty
You let pens skate across your smooth, soft surface
You can become anything
There is no limit or rules for what you can do
From a big, rough tree you become new, perfect sheets
You contain almost every thought
An entire person, room, house, mansion, country, planet
Can be contained in the midst of your pages
You make dreams come to life
Oh paper

Amity Blue Rogalski

Lotus

Oh lotus, you are beautiful in and out
You make me warm like the sun
You are so pretty as you glide across the water
Making a beautiful swoosh, swoosh
All things are drawn to you
Because you have the most beauty in the pond
With your bright colors
You are down to earth
And are a gentle soul
Oh lotus
Oh lotus

Ava Henderson

Mother Nature

Mother Nature, you are beautiful
With birds on your trees
Deer on your grass
Wolves on your rocks
Fish in your rivers
The rain and your puddles
Your beautiful flowers on your branches
I love that when I’m in your woods
I can hear the deer running
The birds singing
Your beautiful cracks when I step on your branches
The waterfall splashing
I love you, Mother Nature

Hayden

Ode to the Vulpix

Your icy tail is so cold I start to cry
Then your tail is like crystal stars in the moonlight
And with a tad of glow, too
I see an ice stone, and I bring it close to you
Then you evolve into Ninetails
Your tail is like snow
You move like crystals
And you still have that crystal gleam

Marcello

The Beast

A beast had soft fur and smelled like nothing. It had no taste and saw nothing because no one had been able to see if. If someone had, they would be killed instantly by its big claws. So, stay away from this furry creature. It is very nasty smelling, and everyone should hate this thing. That was how we met the monster.

Matthias

A Riddle

I see people running. I feel a football. I hear people yelling. I smell sweat. I taste water. Where am I?

Christian

Ode to Football

Ode to football, the thing that creates a lot of friendship
When the laces grip your fingers, you feel a light shining inside of you
When you let go of the ball, it soars through the air like a beautiful bird flying through the sky
When you make a touchdown, you feel a magical sense inside of you
You feel the ball celebrating with you, too
A football is like a magical creature that was once an angel
When you open the present, and you see the ball gleaming with joy, you are that way too
When you watch your team win, you feel like nothing can stand in your way
When you read a football book, you get sucked into the book and feel as if you’re playing football
Football is an amazing game that’ll never change
Anybody can play football, and anybody can enjoy it
If your team ever loses, it isn’t the end of the work
Because there’s always the next game
And you’ll play ever better than before
Ode to football

Gene

One Crazy Day

I watched the sun illuminate and called 911 and said, “Hey, 911, can you open my soda?” I’ve been going to Freddy Fazbear’s Pizza since I was three years old.

Sebastian

Ode

The song of the heart
The warmth inside
The magic within
The magnet to it
The happiness and joy
The comfort for sadness
The one that you feel closest to
Why, my darling,
That is love

Feel the power of the magic
Feel the golden aura shrouding you
Compassion and Kindness
With your heart in it
The despair when you leave
The electric shock of exhilaration when you come back
The dream you have every night and day
What people call a dream come true
Why, my darling,
That is love
As the arrow pierced your heart
You think differently
The longing to be with them
Your spirit glowing bright
The longing to say the words
I love you
But you still hold back
For the fear of loneliness
And ruining the moment
Why, my darling,
That is love

Be kind to yourself and be happy
Don’t hide yourself
Replaced by someone unknown
Be happy and calm
Honest and real
Steady and smart
Old but fresh
Why, my darling,
That is love

Love is not enough enough to say
For it is not describing your spirit
You feel complete and whole
Finding your missing half
It’s quite an adventure
Through good times and bad
But as long as you’re together
You need no more
Why, my darling,
That is your whole

Simone Owensby

Lilly’s Pizza Adventure

Once there was a beautiful girl, and her name was Lilly. She was very hungry, and she was in the mood for some pizza, so she was on her way to the Pizza Palace, until she stopped by this little girl riding a hoverboard. The little girl said, “You can never have pizza!” Lilly was very confused. So, while the little girl wasn’t looking, Lilly ran into the pizza shop then she ordered her pizza. Right after she took a bite, the pizza started to dance, but she didn’t care.

Leia

A Mountain Memory

I’m in the mountains. I see snow and ice. My friend is cooking ribs on a barbecue inside our cabin. I feel happy. I am on vacation with my friends and family. You can sit by the fireplace.

Evan

Ode to the Book

You’re full of amazing words
and always make me happy

Your pages are different in size
But they are always rather flappy

Different types of genres
Historical or fiction

But what makes you my favorite
Is that you are my addiction

Brightly colored titles
Like a rainbow in the sky

Amazing pictures on a page, on a page
No, this is not a lie

But when I see the words “The End”
I feel kinda down

But when I remember I have more books
I no longer have a frown

Charlie

Ode to Dandelion

You start as a seed in the wind
You flutter across the sky
‘Til you land in soft, moist dirt
And your roots go down deep
You grow into the earth
Then your seed opens
And your stem goes up
For the first time, you breathe the fresh air
Your leaves open in the sky
A puff ball is there
And the winds will come again
To plant new flowers in the ground
So they may bloom
And then the seeds are gone
But you still have more life
As your buds open up
I see a beautiful yellow glow like the sun
And amazing in your glory
You are magnificent and calm
Yet filled with energy
You may be so small
But large
Even so
Everyone who looks at you is happy
I thank you for everything
Your beauty and grace
Dandelion

Kiana Leon

Leave a Reply

