Never Forgetting

3 Apr

To continue our celebration of National Poetry Month, here’s a poem from Janelle, a fourth grader in Ms. Becker’s class at J. J. Pickle Elementary School.


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
         
 
 
 
 
 
 
              

Untitled

—Inspired by Federico García Lorca’s “Abandoned Church (Ballad of the Great War)”
Son,
I will find you.
I won’t forget
about you.
I don’t want
to be
far from
you, my heart.
I know that you are
a giant. Don’t
separate from
me, don’t
scare me,
don’t
eat me.
I only want
to be
with
you.

Janelle, fourth grade, Pickle Elementary School

One Response to “Never Forgetting”

  1. Dana April 12, 2012 at 10:43 am #

    Just one of the amazing students at Pickle! Felicidades, Janelle!

Leave a Reply

